Volunteer Scheduler ProVSP Help TopicsSetup Jobs and SubdivisionsHow can I remove subdivisions without deleting positions from the current schedule?

How can I remove subdivisions without deleting positions from the current schedule?

To change your job configuration for future schedules and avoid deleting positions associated with subdivisions on your current schedule, follow these steps:

  1. Go to the Jobs pane in VSP and edit the job in question.
  2. In the upper left side of the Edit Job dialog, in the Subdivisions section, click "New..." and create a new subdivision - leave both the Internal Name and Schedule Label sections blank and this subdivision will appear in gray lettering and say "<main>".
  3. Check the option in the lower right corner of the Edit Job dialog that says "Bind together all subdivision qualifications." This makes all volunteers in this job qualified for all subdivisions and ensures that anyone who was previously in just one subdivision or another will be included in the "main" subdivision. NOTE: This will make sure everyone in your first subdivision is now included in all subdivisions. If your first subdivision does not contain the bulk/all volunteers who can serve in all subdivisions, then you will need to make sure and add the "main" subdivision to all volunteers qualified for any subdivision in the job.
  4. Go to the Recurring Shifts pane in VSP and edit your shift to specify that instead of choosing volunteers from your subdivisions, that you now need X number of volunteers from the "main" job. The "main" name will appear in the list with no subdivision name after it. Repeat this process for all shifts that require volunteers from this job. After doing so, when you run your next schedule volunteers will be pulled from this new "main" subdivision. When the current schedule expires, go back into the Jobs pane, edit your job, and delete your subdivisions one at a time. Make sure to delete the "main" subdivision last. Deleting the "main" subdivision will not negatively impact your schedule, and you will then be left with just the job.

Note: Make sure to delete old subdivisions after the current schedule is done to avoid deleting assignments relating to subdivisions that may still exist on the current schedule.